Vitamin A and Pregnancy

May 19, 2008 at 11:49 am 10 comments

The acceptable dosage of Vitamin A during pregnancy can be confusing to figure out. Vitamin A comes in two main forms: preformed (retinoid form) and beta-carotene (which converts to the retinol form within the body). Preformed Vitamin A is found in meats and fortified foods. Beta-carotene is found in fruits and vegetables. Multivitamins (including prenatal vitamins) may contain either form of Vitamin A.

Too much of the preformed Vitamin A can lead to birth defects and liver toxicity. This risk is highest during the first few weeks of pregnancy. You may consume as much beta-carotene as you wish at any stage of pregnancy. Beta-carotene only converts to the retinol form of Vitamin A when needed. Because of this built-in limiting mechanism, you cannot overdose on beta-carotene.

When looking for a prenatal vitamin, check both the source and amounts of Vitamin A to ensure that you do not exceed the recommended limitations (10,000 IU) during pregnancy. You must also keep in mind the amount of Vitamin A that you receive through your diet.  Promise Prenatal vitamins Stage 1 contain no Vitamin A for the pre-conception period through the first trimester. Stages 2 and 3 contain Vitamin A in the beta-carotene form to help nurture the baby’s growth and maintain the mother’s health.

Vitamin A helps maintain eye health and fight off infections and helps your body rebuild and recover after pregnancy. Your baby benefits from Vitamin A through cell growth, eye and health development, fat metabolism and bone growth.

Entry filed under: babies, baby, Health, Pregnancy, pregnant, prenatal, prenatal vitamins, vitamins, womens health. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Ectopic Pregnancy Information

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Susan  |  May 27, 2008 at 2:07 pm

    While in my first trimester, I am finding that I enjoy eating red meat when before I couldn’t stand to eat it. Will this cause problems with birth defects?

    Reply
  • 2. udlot  |  June 20, 2008 at 4:08 am

    such a nice blog. loansrestructuring

    Reply
  • 3. Michelle Dunn  |  July 3, 2008 at 8:20 pm

    I agree with the findings from this post. Sometimes too many women try to take too much of certain vitamins and don’t understand that their actually hurting their efforts and maybe their baby when pregnant.

    Help Trying To Conceive From a Mother Who’s Been There🙂

    Reply
  • 4. How to Get Six Pack Fast  |  April 15, 2009 at 12:26 pm

    I can tell that this is not the first time at all that you mention the topic. Why have you chosen it again?

    Reply
  • 5. 2vitamins  |  November 17, 2009 at 6:05 pm

    Hey!
    I always buy pharmacy stuff with 2vitamins.com. Usually I get my products on time, between 8 to 17 days. It may not be the fastest service (ive heard they are a US-based company) but they have best price in market for Alli weight loss pills, DHEA, melatonin and Bcomplex. My friends also use it and had no problem with it. When you place an order above 120 pounds I get free express shipment. 2vitamins.com works for me! jaja 2vitamins also provides me with good and serious advice about the products and how to use them. I recommend 2vitamins.com

    Reply
  • 6. nofearamk  |  January 10, 2012 at 2:33 pm

    Women’s health is a very important subject. Try an all natural probiotic to help with your health as well. go 2 http://tinyurl.com/family-mall click on NUTRI-HEALTH

    Reply
  • […] Folic acid. This is an important nutrient to take before and during pregnancy as it is reduces the risk of […]

    Reply
  • 8. pregnancy  |  April 3, 2012 at 3:56 pm

    Hi! I could have sworn I’ve been to this website before but after going through some of the articles I realized it’s new to me. Anyways, I’m certainly happy I came across it and I’ll be book-marking it and checking back often!

    Reply
  • 9. 3 top tips  |  July 28, 2013 at 4:44 am

    Excellent beat ! I would like to apprentice whilst you amend your web
    site, how could i subscribe for a weblog site? The account aided me a acceptable deal.
    I had been tiny bit acquainted of this your broadcast offered brilliant clear idea

    Reply
  • 10. thuocbo1  |  April 10, 2014 at 2:14 am

    uống Prenatal rồi có cần uống gì thêm nữa không.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Add my Blog

AddThis Social Bookmark Button Add to Technorati Favorites

Feeds

Womens Health Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

