American Idol Sings The Beatles

March 19, 2008 at 1:32 pm Leave a comment

So last night was again the Beatles. Don’t get me wrong. I love the Beatles, but I didn’t need to hear the Idols massacre any more of their songs.

01 Amanda Overmyer “Back In The USSR”
I loved her comment about how she would “tease it up really high and throw some black eyeliner on it” That’s totally her. It was really loud, high eneergy. It didn’t work for me. The crowd seemed to like it. Simon said it was boring. Whatever. She looks like she’s having more fun now than she did a couple weeks ago.

02 Kristy Lee Cook “You’ve Got to Hide Your Love Away”
This was the best I’ve heard from her in a long time. I thought it was a great song choice for her. It showcased her lower range with really strong vocals. The ending note was great. Simon had to be a turd with his “musical wallpaper” comment. I think Simon was PMSing. And just as an aside, I do believe that was a picture of her boyfriend with her dog in her photo album.

03 David Archuleta “The Long and Winding Road”
I think David is great. He hit some really low notes in this song and they sounded really good. He does this weird lip-licking thing when he sings, though. He’s got such a pure voice (I thought this while he sang, before Paula made the same comment). Simon said it was amazing.

04 Michael Johns “A Day In The Life”
Uggh. He started OK, but hit some bad notes. The judges totally ragged on him. I didn’t like it. I haven’t really liked anything he’s done though.

05 Brooke White “Here Comes The Sun”
I think she was having a great time with this song. She was dancing around. She hit one really high note that sounded great. The judges weren’t complimentary.

06 David Cook “Daytripper”
My FAVORITE of the night. This was great, I thought. I had to rewind and listen again. I was impressed. He has the bedroom eyes look down pat.🙂 I liked the voice box thing. He is totally in his element. I loved how he was winking at the girls while Simon was giving his criticism.

07 Carly Smithson “Blackbird”
She looked so pretty last night. Seeing her tattoo kinda ruined it for me though. She has very pretty eyes. It was a good performance. Judges said it was controlled and emotive. Simon hated it.

08 Jason Castro “Michelle”
I think he sings well in French. I liked his hand gesture. He was having lots of fun. The music just made me want to sway. Simon said “your face sold that.” Simon thinks he’s “charming, not obnoxious.”

09 Syesh Mercado “Yesterday”
Her dress was beautiful. I thought the performance was pitchy. I didn’t like it.

10 Chikieze Eze “I’ve Just Seen A Face”
It had an interesting country vibe. I thought it worked. It got much better as it progressed. Simon said that it wasn’t a song to be proud of and thought it was gimmicky.

11 Ramiele Malubay “I Shoulda Known Better”
She tried to make it up-tempo. (I complained about this in the past) I don’t know what the hell she was wearing. I like her, but only with my eyes closed. There’s something I don’t like about the way she performs.

Have I told you lately that I really love these hair and skin vitamins and these are some great prenatal vitamins?

Entry filed under: AI7, Amanda Overmyer, American Idol, Brooke White, Carly Hennessy, Carly Smithson, David Archuleta, David Cook, Jason Castro, Kristy Lee Cook, Ryan Seacrest, Simon Cowell. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Jason Castro Singing Praise Songs Kellie Pickler Performs “Red High Heels” on American Idol Elimination Night

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Add my Blog

AddThis Social Bookmark Button Add to Technorati Favorites

Feeds

Womens Health Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

